The European High Performance Computing Joint Undertaking (EuroHPC JU) is a joint initiative between the EU, European countries and private partners to develop a World Class Supercomputing Ecosystem in Europe. EuroHPC JU is a legal and funding entity, created in 2018 and located in Luxembourg to lead the way in European supercomputing. 

The EuroHPC JU allows the European Union and the EuroHPC JU participating countries to coordinate their efforts and pool their resources to make Europe a world leader in supercomputing. This boosts Europe's scientific excellence and industrial strength, support the digital transformation of its economy while ensuring its technological sovereignty. 

European map with participating countries highlighted

Map of the participating countries in 2024

More information about its mission and the members can be found on their website.



Today the EuroHPC JU has procured nine supercomputers located across Europe. These supercomputers can be accessed by Belgian users through specific calls. The table below lists these supercomputers as of February 2024, for information only. For up-to-date specificities, please refer to the EuroHPC website or to the supercomputer web page given in the table.

Supercomputer Host CPU nodes GPU nodes FPGA nodes Sustained Performance (petaflops)
LUMI CSC, Finland 2048 (AMD) 2978 (AMD) - 386
Leonardo CINECA, Italy 1536 (Intel) 3456 (NVIDIA) - 246
Marenostrum 5 BSC, Spain 6408 (Intel) 1120 (NVIDIA) - 178
Meluxina LuxProvide, Luxembourg 573 (AMD) 200 (NVIDIA) 20 13
Karolina IT4Innovation, Czech Republic 720 (AMD) 72 (NVIDIA) - 10
Discoverer Sofia Tech Park, Bulgaria 1128 (AMD) - - 5
VEGA IZUM, Slovenia 960 (AMD) 60 (NVIDIA/AMD) - 7
Deucalion MACC, Portugal 1632 (ARM) / 500 (AMD) 33 (NVIDIA) - 7
Jupiter (future) Jülich Supercomputing Center, Germany - - - ~1000


Get Access

Information about the access calls can be found on the EuroHPC website. If you need help to apply to one of these calls, feel free to contact us.